'Opened on October 11, 1886 as H.C. Miner’s Newark Theatre. It was originally a vaudeville house managed by Hyde & Behman Amusement Co., a Brooklyn based theatre management company. After H.C. Miner’s death in 1900, his surviving relatives retained ownership of the theatre for several years until its sale in 1916 to Edward Speigel, the owner of the nearby Strand Theatre. Speigel also purchased the building next to the theatre with intent to use the space to expand the theatre. To accomplish this he hired famed theatre architect Thomas W. Lamb to do the alterations. In 1917, Thomas Lamb remodeled the theatre in an Adam style.
The former Paramount Theatre still boasts the vertical ‘Paramount’ sign, as well as the ‘Newark’ marquee. The Paramount Theatre was closed on April 1, 1986.
Although a retail store operated out of the former lobby until around April 2011, a store employee confirmed that behind the drop ceilings and walls remains much of the old theatre, complete with stage area and balcony seating intact.'